Expert Directory

Peter R. Carroll, MD, MPH

Ken and Donna Derr – Chevron Distinguished Professor
Taube Family Distinguished Professor in Urology
Department of Urology
UCSF - Helen Diller Comprehensive Cancer Center
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA

Peter R. Carroll, MD, MPH, is professor in the Department of Urology at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF), which is consistently ranked as one of the top urology departments in the country by U.S. News and World Report and as the top recipient of National Institutes of Health funding for urology. He received his undergraduate training at the University of California, Berkeley. After graduating with honors from Georgetown University School of Medicine, he completed his general surgery training and urology residency at UCSF, followed by a fellowship in urologic oncology at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. He joined the faculty of the UCSF Department of Urology in 1986. Dr Carroll, who holds the Ken and Donna Derr-Chevron and Taube Family Distinguished Professorships in Urology, added an MPH degree from University of California, Berkeley, to his academic credentials in 2008. He organized the Urologic Oncology Service, one of the most active multidisciplinary programs at UCSF. He assumed the position of chair of the UCSF Department of Urology in 1996 and stepped down recently from this position and maintains a busy clinical practice and research program.

Dr Carroll has authored or coauthored more than 700 publications and is an active member of numerous professional medical societies. He is now past president of the American Board of Urology (2006-2008). He is currently the principal investigator or coinvestigator for numerous scientific studies. His major professional interests are focused on the study and management of urologic cancers, innovative methods of urinary tract reconstruction, health services research, health policy, and the impact of cancer detection and treatment on quality of life. In 2010, Dr Carroll was awarded the Eugene Fuller Triennial Prostate Award and the SUO Medal from the American Urological Association and the Society of Urologic Oncology, respectively. In 2014, he was awarded the coveted Barringer Medal from the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons. Finally, in 2019, he received the Société Internationale d’Urologie SIU Mostafa M. Elhilali Award “in recognition of his excellent scientific and ethical standing and outstanding contribution to the field of urology...”